FROM: Imperium Public Affairs

DATE: May 25, 2022

SUBJECT: Texas 2022 Primary Runoff Elections



STATEWIDE OFFICES

Incumbent Attorney General Ken Paxton defeated Land Commissioner George P. Bush 68% to 32%. General Paxton will face Rochelle Garza, who secured the Democrat party nomination.

State Senator Dawn Buckingham is the Republican nominee for General Land Office Commissioner. Buckingham will face Jay Kleberg, who secured the Democrat nomination.

The Republican Primary Runoff ended with incumbent Railroad Commissioner Wayne Christian defeating Sarah Stogner (65% to 35%). Luke Warford will represent the Democratic Party in November.

Democrat Mike Collier will face incumbent Lt. Governor Dan Patrick while Janet Dudding won the Democrat nomination for State Comptroller. Dudding will face incumbent Comptroller Glenn Hegar.

US CONGRESS

U.S. Rep. Henry Cuellar (D-Laredo) appeared to defeat Jessica Cisneros (D) by 177 votes, 50.2%-49.8%, in their rematch for CD28.

Rep. Jasmine Crockett (D-Dallas) won the Democratic nomination for CD30 open, 60%-40%, over Jane Hope Hamilton.

TEXAS SENATE

SD24: Former Sen. Pete Flores (R-Pleasanton) defeated Raul Reyes Jr., 59%-41%.

SD27: Morgan LaMantia (D) defeated Sara Stapleton-Barrera (D), 57%-43%.

TEXAS HOUSE

Three of the four legislative incumbents forced into runoffs prevailed:

- Kyle Kacal (R-College Station) defeated Ben Bius, 58%-42%, in HD12.
- Stephanie Klick (R-Fort Worth) defeated David Lowe, 54%-46%, in HD91.
- Glenn Rogers (R-Graford) defeated Mike Olcott by 752 votes, 52%-48%, in HD60.
- Rep. Phil Stephenson (R-Wharton) lost to Stan Kitzman (R), 58%-42%.

Republican Runoff Results

Attorney General

Incumbent Ken Paxton 67.9%

George P. Bush 32.1%

Land Commissioner

Dawn Buckingham 68.8%

Tim Westley 31.2%

Railroad Commissioner

Incumbent Wayne Christian 65%

Sarah Stogner 35%

Senate District 24

Pete Flores 59.2%

Raul Reyes 40.8%

House District 12

Incumbent Kyle Kacal 57.9%

Ben Bius 42.1%

House District 17

Stan Gerdes 51.3%

Paul Pape 48.7%

House District 19

Ellen Troxclair 56.5%

Justin Berry 43.5%

House District 23

Terri Leo Wilson 57.7%

Patrick Gurski 42.3%

House District 52

Caroline Harris 50.6%

Patrick McGuinness 49.4%

House District 60

Incumbent Glenn Rogers 52.1%

Mike Olcott 47.9%

House District 61

Frederick Frazier 63.9%

Paul Chabot 36.1%

House District 63

Ben Bumgarner 62.2%

Jeff Younger 37.8%

House District 70

Jamee Jolly 52.1%

Eric Bowlin 47.9%

House District 73

Carrie Isaac 50.6%

Barron Casteel 49.4%

House District 84

Carl Tepper 58.9%

David Glasheen 41.1%

House District 85

Stan Kitzman 58%

Incumbent Phil Stephenson 42%

House District 91

Incumbent Stephanie Klick 54.3%

David Lowe 45.7%

House District 93

Nate Schatzline 65%

Laura Hill 35%

House District 122

Mark Dorazio 55%

Elisa Chan 45%

House District 133

Mano DeAyala 51%

Shelly Torian Barineau 49%

Democrat Runoff Results

Lieutenant Governor

Mike Collier 54.8%

Michelle Beckley 45.2%

Attorney General

Rochelle Garza 62.6%

Joe Jaworski 37.4%

Land Commissioner

Jay Kleberg 52.9%

Sandragrace Martinez 47.1%

Comptroller

Janet Dudding 61.5%

Angel Luis Vega 38.5%

Senate District 27

Morgan LaMantia 56.9%

Sara Stapleton-Barrera 43.1%

House District 22

Christian "Manuel" Hayes 50.9%

Joseph Paul Trahan 49.1%

House District 37

Luis Villarreal Jr. 52.4%

Ruben Cortez Jr. 47.6%

House District 70

Mihaela Plesa 55.2%

Cassandra Hernandez 44.8%

House District 76

Suleman Lalani 62.9%

Vanesia Johnson 37.1%

House District 100

Venton Jones 68.3%

Sandra Crenshaw 31.7%

House District 114

John Bryant 57.3%

Alexandra Guio 42.7%

House District 147

Jolanda Jones 53.7%

Danielle Key Bass 46.3%